On Dec. 13, 1946: British Togoland Trusteeship approved by the United Nations

The General Assembly approved, on 13 December 1946, in accordance with Article 85 of the Charter, the terms of the Trusteeship Agreements for New Guinea, Ruanda-Urundi, and Cameroons under French administration and Togoland under French administration, Western Samoa, Tanganyika, Cameroons under British administration and Togoland under British administration. In these agreements, Australia, Belgium, France, New Zealand and the United Kingdom were designated as Administering Authorities.

Following the Second World War, the political status of British Togoland changed - it became a United Nations Trust Territory, although still administered by the United Kingdom. During the decolonization of Africa, a plebiscite was organized in British Togoland in May 1956 to decide the future of the territory. A majority of voters taking part voted to merge the territory with the neighboring Gold Coast, a British Crown colony.

In a letter dated 6 March 1957 the United Kingdom Government informed the Secretary-General of the United Nations that with effect from midnight 6 March 1957, under the terms of the Ghana Independence Act 1956, the territories previously comprised in the Gold Coast became the independent State of Ghana and that under the same Act, the union of the former Trust Territory of Togoland under British administration with the independent State of Ghana took place from the same time and date. British Togoland's capital was Ho, which presently serves as the capital of Volta Region. The region includes much of the former mandate's territory.