May 25, 1963: Ghana becomes a charter member of the Organization of African Unity(OAU)

Soon after achieving independence, a number of African states expressed a growing desire for more unity within the continent. Not everyone was agreed on how this unity could be achieved, however, and two opinionated groups emerged in this respect: 

The Casablanca bloc, led by Kwame Nkrumah of Ghana, wanted a federation of all African countries. Aside from Ghana, it comprised also AlgeriaGuineaMoroccoEgyptMali and Libya. Founded in 1961, its members were described as "progressive states".

The Monrovian bloc, led by Senghor of Senegal, felt that unity should be achieved gradually, through economic cooperation. It did not support the notion of a political federation. Its other members were NigeriaLiberiaEthiopia and most of the former French colonies.

Some of the initial discussions took place at SanniquellieLiberia. The dispute was eventually resolved when Ethiopian emperor Haile Selassie I invited the two groups to Addis Ababa, where the OAU and its headquarters were subsequently established. The Charter of the Organisation was signed by 32 independent African states.

The Organisation of African Unity (OAUFrenchOrganisation de l'unité africaine (OUA)) was established on 25 May 1963 in Addis AbabaEthiopia with 32 signatory governments. It was disbanded on 9 July 2002 by its last chairpersonSouth African President Thabo Mbeki, and replaced by the African Union (AU).