March 12, 1948: The "Big Six" transferred to the Northern Territories

The colonial government blamed the leadership of the UGCC for the disturbances leading to the killing of Seargent Adjetey, Corporal Attipoe and Private Odartey Lampetey.

The educated elites blamed Sir Gerald Creasy, the then Governor (whom they called “Crazy Creasy”) for the riots due to his handling of the country’s problems. The Riot Act was read on 1 March 1948.

A Removal Order was issued by Sir Gerald Creasy for the arrest of the six leaders of the UGCC; Ebenezer Ako-Adjei, Edward Akufo-Addo, Joseph Boakye Dankquah, Kwame Nkrumah, Emmanuel Obetsebi-Lamptey and William Ofori Atta were arrested and detained by the colonial authorities and were transferred to  Northern Territories on March 12, 1948, following their arrests.